The following information concerns the divorce process in Hudson County, New Jersey, one of the busiest courts in the State of New Jersey.
Step One- The creation of the divorce papers. The person filing the divorce is the Plaintiff and shall remain the Plaintiff for as long as the case goes on. The Judge takes no interest in who filed for divorce first, so if you are second and are considered the Defendant, don’t panic.
Step Two- The filing of the divorce. Once the divorce papers are signed and notarized, the papers are filed on the first floor of 595 Newark Avenue, Jersey City, NJ. The filing fee is $250 or $275 depending on if children/custody is at issue.
Step Three- The docket number and serving your spouse. This can be easy or stressful, depending on if you still reside together or not. If its unexpected, I would imagine, it is stressful, if it has been discussed and planned, then less stressful. You can have your spouse served or your spouse can sign an acknowledgement of service.
Step Four- 35 days. After service, your spouse has 35 days to respond to the divorce or he or she CAN WAIVE his or her right to answer if he signs an acknowledgment of service and waiver of answer.
Step Five- If he or she has signed, move for default. If he or she contests, check my blog on contested issues.
Step Six- Prepare the divorce judgment and go to court, YOU are DIVORCED. If you hire an attorney, a court date could be waived in Hudson County.
If you have a divorce case in Hudson County, contact the team at the Artusa Law Firm today on 201-706-7910.